How Glance’s ‘Smart’ Ad Campaign Won Me Over

Jonathan Swift
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

For my recent search ‘smartphones under 10000’, I came across a real find of an advertisement for Glance that made me both astonished and joking. While I came across many smartphone options like Samsung, Xiaomi, Realme, and MI, the Glance ad kept popping up. It was not just the search for a smart lock screen, it was the sheer brilliance that Glance had injected into its smart marketing campaign. I was not expecting anything as interesting as the Glance ad, as I made my way through my sea of digital searches on Google.

Nevertheless, Glance snatched my attention with a smart ad that was also somewhat creative. The keyword ‘smart’ was not simply a trick; it was a brilliant move that touched my curiosity.

Let’s be honest, tech advertising has always been dry and full of technical terms. In contrast, Glance approached the issue from a different angle. The ad did not bombard me with the specifications. Instead, it had an attitude that immediately got my humour. It was a fresh breeze in the otherwise tech-serious landscape. The impression that Glance made on me, as a consumer, was something that is still running in my mind. It was not just an advertisement, it became part of my quest for knowledge. While looking for ‘smartphones under 10000’ I was expecting ads of different models of Samsung, Xiaomi, Realme, and MI, but instead, I came across something completely free, does not need to be downloaded, and had a brilliant marketing tactic. The next time I think about a smart lock screen or anything ‘smart’, the first thing that will come to my mind will be the smart Glance ad.

Associating their smart lock screen with the ‘smart’ search word has made me realize that Glance is not just a smart lock screen, but a sassy companion that entertained my search for the perfect smartphone. As proven in its creative campaign, a little humor can go a long way in the tech world. Glance, thanks for the ad which is an experience.

--

--